The Future Home of Iditarod Dreams: Man They Grow Up So Fast!

The Future Home of Iditarod Dreams: Man, They Grow Up Fast!

Tyler and Dad

Today is my son Tyler’s 16th birthday. I cant believe they grow up so fast! It seems like yesterday he was such a little guy. Now he is driving (he just passed and got his driver’s permit today) and will soon be heading to college.

Tyler has plans when he goes to university. He wants to be a physical education teacher or possibly major in sports medicine. Tyler is a pure athlete and plays football and took up lacrosse after his dad. I love going to watch him play. He reminds me so much of me when I was playing sports. He even played the same position as me in lacrosse, short stick defense.

Our job is to teach our kids how to be great adults and productive and respectable members of society and hope they will take our teachings and apply them in life when the going gets tough, because as we all know, my rabid readers, life is not about sugar and spice and everything nice all the time is it.

I know that Tyler will do well. I am proud of him and I look forward to see him through his goals and dreams.

Tyler will be coming to Alaska for the first time in a few weeks. He is the only one that hasn’t been up here yet. I am very excited to have him come. Maybe we can catch an Alaska Aces (minor league pro team up here) or even a college game. Of course we will run dogs and I’ll teach him how to drive an ATV.

Happy Birthday, son.

Your Dad

I welcome your comments and suggestions. Please comment below.

Robert Forto | Team Ineka | Alaska Dog Works | Mushing Radio | Dog Doctor Radio | Denver Dog Works

___________________

Dr. Robert Forto is a musher training for his first Iditarod under the Team Ineka banner and the host of the popular radio shows, Mush! You Huskies and The Dog Doctor Radio Show

, , , , , , , , ,

About robertforto

Robert Forto is the owner of Dog Works Training Company in Alaska, a canine behaviorist, mushin' down a dream, sports nut and radio show host. Robert writes a lot about his observations in Alaska, pop culture, music, and of course dogs!

View all posts by robertforto

Follow Us

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

