The future home of Iditarod dreams: Where you going, city boy?

The one question I hear over and over up here in the Last Frontier is always the same:

You haven’t had a taste of your first Alaskan winter yet, then?

What comes to mind to me after yesterday is the old Carpenters tune:

We Have Only Just Begun. Maybe you have heard it. If not give it a listen…

Yesterday I knew something was different when I was running the dogs and my Carharts froze as stiff as Sir Lancelot’s armor. It had been in the balmy 30’s and 40’s for weeks and all the sudden the bottom dropped out.

I have been given lots of advice over the last few months and a lot of it was great but some just went in one ear and out the other. Mainly I need to stay hydrated. Yeah… I know drink more Coca-Cola right? No way! Water and warm drinks.

Yesterday I was out on the trail and in the dog lot for the better part of five hours and when I got home at 7:30 or so I could not shake the chill. I even felt really tired. So I whipped out the iPhone and looked up the beginning stages of hypothermia. You guessed it: drowsiness and lethargy.

So I finally warmed up and realized that something must be done tomorrow. I will start with the new bibs I got this past weekend; Refridgiwear for $89.00 and said to be some of the warmest around. Also, mukluks, and plunge mitts if they are at the post office yet. I ordered them two weeks ago.

This morning I awoke to -6 degrees and headed to the dog lot for the morning feeding. You know its cold when your nose hairs start to freeze. You know the feeling, I know you do, unless you live in the balmy climes of say,

FLORIDA

Not to mention this house that we got such a great deal on is an ice box! I wondered why we used almost 100 gallons of heating oil last month when it was still well above freezing outside.

It is so cold in here it feels like you are walking around in an ice cave bare-foot. Its sad that the warmest place in the house is in the shower! Well, at least we have running water, not like 60% of the homes in Houston, just about nine miles from here.

I know it will get colder. I will be prepared. I will take all the advice I have been given and use it to my benefit. If not you might just find me next spring sitting in my lazy boy looking like Jack Nicholson in The Shinning….

Time to go run the dogs!

Robert Forto | Team Ineka | Alaska Dog Works | Mushing Radio | Dog Works Radio | Denver Dog Works

___________________

Dr. Robert Forto is a musher training for his first Iditarod under the Team Ineka banner and the host of the popular radio shows, Mush! You Huskies and Dog Works Radio Shows


, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About robertforto

Robert Forto is the owner of Dog Works Training Company in Alaska, a canine behaviorist, mushin' down a dream, sports nut and radio show host. Robert writes a lot about his observations in Alaska, pop culture, music, and of course dogs!

View all posts by robertforto

Follow Us

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “The future home of Iditarod dreams: Where you going, city boy?”

  1. Michele Forto Says:

    I think you’re gonna love the gift I bought you today that I’m bringing next week. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

