Best accomplishment of 2010

January 6, 2011

Daily Post

I am on day three of 365 on WordPress’ The Daily Post, I picked a topic they listed a couple days ago before I got started because I just don’t have a memorable job interview story.

You see, I have been self employed my whole life. For the good or the bad, its just how I roll. I just cant see myself working for ‘The Man’ and I have always seen myself more of a leader than a follower. Hey, that’s just my opinion, and I am sticking to it…

Today’s topic: What’s the single most important thing you accomplished in 2010?

Wow, there are a lot to list here but I would have to say my end of the procrastination and finally uprooting my comfortable middle-class suburbia, high on Apple Pie, mini van in the driveway, shopping at the Shop-N-Go looking for the daily deal, and moving to Alaska to begin training for the Iditarod.

I will admit that I didn’t think things through like I should have. I am very impulsive. So much so, in July I brought my 13 year old daughter to Alaska with me to make the final decision on the move. How’s that for giving the kid some responsibility!

It kinda went down like this: I was up in Anchorage for last year’s Iditarod start and met a bunch of new people and one person that would change my life (and every one in my family in a trickle effect) forever. His name as Dave and he was a realtor.

I mentioned to Dave, as I was getting ready to leave, “hey, give me your card. I might be interested in some property in Alaska sometime.”

Within the next few months I contacted Dave and he picked out a place in Willow, Alaska, about an hour and a half from everywhere and the official start of the Iditarod sled dog race. I told Dave to get the papers ready and send them my way I am ready to buy sight unseen!

We finally agreed to write the purchase agreement stating: approval on [my] visual inspection and I sent him a check for the earnest money.

Over the July 4th weekend, my daughter, Nicole and I trekked up to the Last Frontier and spent the better part of an afternoon in a pouring rainstorm checking out the place. I had no idea what I was looking at. All of my home improvement expertise comes from DIY, window shopping at Home Depot, and an occasional re-run of Home Improvement.

Anyhow, I remember handing my iPhone to Nicole and telling her to call her mom and give her the decision. I remember those fateful words like some people can recite famous quotes from JFK or MLK or heck, maybe even LBJ. She said, “Mom, we have to move to Alaska!”

That was it. My fate was sealed. My life would change from that moment and it was the biggest accomplishment of my life. It wasn’t just the move to Alaska that was accomplished. It was the buying of my first home. It was the uprooting of a family. It was the chasing of a dream that has been part of the fiber of my being since I was a teenager.

I don’t know what the next few years hold up here in Alaska. I do know that I have worked harder than I ever have in my life and I have not earned a dime doing it. I have come to appreciate many things that I have taken for granted. I have learned what home-sickness really feels like with my wife and kids in Denver until this summer. I have learned what it takes to live without.

In short I have accomplished something that I had not seen in almost 40 years. I became a MAN.

Robert Forto | Team Ineka | Alaska Dog Works | Mushing Radio | Dog Works Radio | Denver Dog Works

___________________

Dr. Robert Forto is a musher training for his first Iditarod under the Team Ineka banner and the host of the popular radio shows, Mush! You Huskies and Dog Works Radio Shows

, , , , , , ,

About robertforto

Robert Forto is the owner of Dog Works Training Company in Alaska, a canine behaviorist, mushin' down a dream, sports nut and radio show host. Robert writes a lot about his observations in Alaska, pop culture, music, and of course dogs!

View all posts by robertforto

Follow Us

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Best accomplishment of 2010”

  1. michele forto Says:

    My superman. Great article.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

