Time machine for an hour, where would you go?

January 14, 2011

Daily Post

Todays Dailypost Question: If you had a time machine that only let you spend one hour in a different time, what date would you go to?

The date was the 4th of July 1994 at about 10 am local time. I was busily getting ready for a performance with my rock band, Rainmaker, and the phone rang.

It was my grandmother on the phone. She said she and my grandfather were doing their daily walk in the local mall just before it opened and they stopped off at a store and my grandfather bought a pair of socks. After the purchase he went out and sat on the bench and said the words that would stay with me for the rest of my life, “tell Robb, that I will always be his best friend.”

And then he passed away.

They say that is heart just quit. Right then and there.

You see, my grandfather, Glenn was the most important, most influential, most caring man in my life. He taught me so many things in the brief 23 years I had with him. He taught me life lessons. He helped form my values and my beliefs. In short he taught me how to be a man.

If I could be in just one place for just one hour, I would be with him to hold his hand. I would be with him to say good bye in person. I would not try to change things because I believe when it is time to go we should not interfere.

To this day I think about my grandfather often. I can still hear is voice and remember sitting on his lap while he read me the “funny papers” on Sunday morning when I was a little kid. I can remember is laugh.

I can remember those same Sunday mornings, him sitting on the couch in the front room listening to his portable radio, always on the classical music station.

I miss my friend still. I miss him a lot. And if you believe in angels this man is soaring with the eagles.

 

Robert Forto | Team Ineka | Alaska Dog Works | Mushing Radio | Dog Works Radio | Denver Dog Works

___________________

Dr. Robert Forto is a musher training for his first Iditarod under the Team Ineka banner and the host of the popular radio shows, Mush! You Huskies and Dog Works Radio Shows

 

, , , , , , , ,

About robertforto

Robert Forto is the owner of Dog Works Training Company in Alaska, a canine behaviorist, mushin' down a dream, sports nut and radio show host. Robert writes a lot about his observations in Alaska, pop culture, music, and of course dogs!

View all posts by robertforto

Follow Us

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Time machine for an hour, where would you go?”

  1. Rajiv Says:

    Why is that ” we have to miss someone dear . only when we lost them?” Why don’t we understand the value of our own people, in TIME.
    Similar incident happened with me and i was far away from home to even see him at last..

    Reply

  2. Peter Weis Says:

    My grandfather was very important to me also. If had a Time Machine even for jsut an hour or so I would go back to when both of my grandparents where alive. Not to say good bye to them. I wouldn;t waste the time avoiding what is. What i would ask them is all the things I never new about them. Good luck with the rest of the postaday2011 challenge. im doing it also so I hope to read more from your site.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

