Recipe Rants: Mac N Cheese Review

January 17, 2011

Recipe Rants

I have been searching high and low for a good Mac N Cheese recipe for years. I have always wondered where some of the great restaurants find a way to make such a comfort food as good ole’ macaroni and cheese taste so good.

I have been to places that serve what they call ‘adult mac n’ cheese’ and it is usually pretty good. One place that comes to mind is Jordan’s Bistro on the University of Denver campus in Colorado. This is one of my wife, Michele and I’s favorite places to hang out before catching a hockey game. The food is wonderful and the Mac and Cheese is good but they added chicken to it and it lost some of its flair.

I have never been a fan of anything that you make out of a box and that includes macaroni and cheese. It just doesn’t taste right to me. It often tastes bland and processed.

But yesterday I whipped up a batch of Mac N Cheese in the crock pot from a recipe that Michele found online at Food Network. It was something that one of her favorite TV chefs, Paula Deen, made on her TV show.

It was to die for! I am not being melodramatic here folks. Trust me. It was the best Mac N Cheese I have ever had in my life. I don’t know if it was the sour cream, the dry mustard, the sharp cheddar cheese or just the fact that it cooked in the slow cooker all day and turned into a gooey, cheesy goodness like that I have never experienced.

[ Rewind: Sticky Toffee Pudding ]

I would highly recommend this recipe to anyone. Hey guys, even you can make this! Prep time is only a matter of minutes and believe me you and your family will love it!

If you have a favorite recipe that you would like to share please contact me at live@dogdoctorradio.com

 

Robert Forto | Team Ineka | Alaska Dog Works | Mushing Radio | Dog Works Radio | Denver Dog Works

___________________

Dr. Robert Forto is a musher training for his first Iditarod under the Team Ineka banner and the host of the popular radio shows, Mush! You Huskies and Dog Works Radio Shows

 

, , , , , , , , , , ,

About robertforto

Robert Forto is the owner of Dog Works Training Company in Alaska, a canine behaviorist, mushin' down a dream, sports nut and radio show host. Robert writes a lot about his observations in Alaska, pop culture, music, and of course dogs!

View all posts by robertforto

Follow Us

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

