When is spring??

February 26, 2011

Daily Post, Robert Forto

I have been in Alaska since the beginning of August. I started out 110 miles per hour cleaning up the property, fixing little things and doing a few small home improvement projects.

If you know anything about me by now, you know I am far from being a host on the D.I.Y. channel teaching others how to make their home a palace!

In September I started doing what I came up here to do, and that is run sled dogs! It has been a great season so far and I am sure there are many more runs in store before the snow melts (whenever that is).

Yesterday I was checking out the property, walking in thigh high snow and I asked myself; When is Spring?

All kinds of thoughts raced into my head of projects that I want–well need–to do before the snow flies next fall.

Build a fence

Build dog houses

Install tie out posts

Replace the garage door

Paint the doors on the garage

Install siding on the kennel

Install a roof in the garage/kennel building

Paint inside the garage/kennel building

Hook up the oil stove

and that is just the beginning…

So as I sit and wonder in amazement of the beauty of this place, the promises of tomorrow are not far off.

A Facebook friend commented yesterday to my post: When is spring? and she said: “I thought you wanted to be a musher??

I do. But before I can become a musher on my own, here at my own kennel, spring has to arrive so I can make that happen!

 

Robert Forto | Team Ineka | Alaska Dog Works | Mushing Radio | Dog Works Radio | Denver Dog Works | Daily Post

___________________

Robert Forto is a musher training for his first Iditarod under the Team Ineka banner and the host of the popular radio shows, Mush! You Huskies and Dog Works Radio Shows

 

 

, ,

About robertforto

Robert Forto is the owner of Dog Works Training Company in Alaska, a canine behaviorist, mushin' down a dream, sports nut and radio show host. Robert writes a lot about his observations in Alaska, pop culture, music, and of course dogs!

View all posts by robertforto

Follow Us

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

