LEARN!

Don Bowers Race Start

Right before I started the Don Bowers Memorial Race in Willow this weekend I got a Facebook message from my biggest fan and supporter, my wife Michele. It it said in part:

“Never forget your dreams. Ineka and I are with you on the trail in spirit. LEARN!”

After the race/camping trip with the dogs this past weekend, I learned a lot. A lot about the dogs…

a lot about long distance mushing–checkpoint routines, camping, cooking and caring for the dogs…

a lot about the terrain of Alaska and how much snow really falls up here…

But more importantly I learned a lot about myself. I learned that I am ultra-competitive, sometimes losing sight on the ultimate goal…

I learned who my friends are (human and canine) and the relationship that I have formed over the past four months with a team of Alaskan Huskies…

I learned what a mentor’s job is…

I learned how slow an “Iditarod pace” really is…

I learned that a 200 pound guy with a 100 pound sled is a lot of weight on a 10 dog team on a rough trail. I now know why the greatest mushers in the world are not the size of Yukon Cornelius!

Yukon Cornelius

I learned that you don’t have to finish a race to FINISH a quest.

I also learned that in order to successfully race next season I have to do several things:

♦ Get into better shape. Running up tons of hills for the first 60 miles of the race I learned that I need to do something this off season to get into “race shape”. The first thing I am going to do and something that I have wanted to do for a long time– is training, prepare for an run a Triathlon in August.

The triathlon that I am planning on competing is is not the IRONMAN but a mini-tri with a 400 meter swim, a 9 mile bike ride and a 5k run. Small by triathlon standards but a feat that I can train for. I am looking forward to it and it will be fun!

♦I learned that sometimes the light isn’t always at the end of the tunnel but sometimes at your back.

So, sitting here 48 hours post-race I can honestly say I am a better musher than I was Friday morning. That is one thing that I am sure of.

Robert Forto | Team Ineka | Alaska Dog Works | Mushing Radio | Dog Works Radio | Denver Dog Works | Daily Post

___________________

Robert Forto is a musher training for his first Iditarod under the Team Ineka banner and the host of the popular radio shows, Mush! You Huskies and Dog Works Radio Shows

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

About robertforto

Robert Forto is the owner of Dog Works Training Company in Alaska, a canine behaviorist, mushin' down a dream, sports nut and radio show host. Robert writes a lot about his observations in Alaska, pop culture, music, and of course dogs!

View all posts by robertforto

Follow Us

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “LEARN!”

  1. michele forto Says:

    Glad you learned 🙂

    Reply

  2. dave scheer Says:

    Congratulations Robert !!

    Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010-11 Training Summary « Team Ineka Blog - May 4, 2011

    […] Read more about the Don Bowers run here […]

  2. 2010-11 Training Summary | Robert Forto - May 4, 2011

    […] Read more about the Don Bowers run here […]

Leave a comment